Ottawa, ON

CanaDAM 2019

The 7th biennial Canadian Discrete and Algorithmic Mathematics Conference (CanaDAM) will be held on May 28-31, 2019 at Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, British Columbia in the SFU Harbour Centre. Previous CanaDAM Conferences were held at Banff in 2007Montréal in 2009Victoria in 2011,  St. Johns in 2013, Saskatoon in 2015, and Toronto in 2017

The general topic of the conference is theory and applications of discrete structures. Its goal is to highlight the most salient trends in the field. The conference will bring together researchers from various disciplines with which discrete and algorithmic mathematics interact. 

The CanaDAM conference is held in odd numbered years using a format similar to the SIAM conference on Discrete Mathematics. Particular areas of interest include graphs and digraphs, hypergraphs, matroids, ordered sets, designs, coding theory, enumeration, combinatorics of words, discrete optimization, discrete and computational geometry, lattice point enumeration, combinatorial algorithms, computational complexity, and applications of discrete and algorithmic mathematics, including (but not limited to) web graphs, computational biology, communication networks, and information processing.

Conference Poster

Invited Speakers

Federico Ardila

San Francisco State University, USA

Marthe Bonamy

Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique, France

Johannes Carmesin

University of Birmingham, UK

David Conlon

University of Oxford, UK

Anna R. Karlin

University of Washington, USA

Mike Molloy

University of Toronto

Peter Nelson

University of Waterloo

Rekha Thomas

University of Washington, USA

Public Interest

WEDNESDAY MAY 29 20:00 - 20:50
Djavad Mowafaghian Cinema G3200

The lecture will be preceded by a reception from 19:00 – 20:00 in the World Art Centre G2555

Bill Cook

University of Waterloo

Invited Minisymposia

Additive combinatorics (Hamed Hatami, McGill University)
Algebraic and geometric methods in combinatorics (Christophe Hohlweg, Université du Québec à Montréal)
Algorithmic game theory (Hu Fu, University of British Columbia; Anna R. Karlin, University of Washington, USA)
Combinatorial optimization (Tamon Stephen, Simon Fraser University)
Computational methods in industrial mathematics (Bogumił Kamiński, Warsaw School of Economics, Poland; Andrei Raigorodskii, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, Russia)
Discrete algorithms (Marcin Pilipczuk, University of Warsaw, Poland)
Discrete geometry (Agelos Georgakopoulos, University of Warwick, UK)
Enumerative combinatorics (Sergi Elizalde, Dartmouth College, USA)
Extremal combinatorics (Joonkyung Lee, University of Oxford, UK)
Graph decompositions (Marthe Bonamy, Laboratoire Bordelais de Recherche en Informatique, France)
Matroid theory (Peter Nelson, University of Waterloo)
Random graphs (Lutz Warnke, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
Structural graph theory (Sophie Spirkl, Princeton University, USA)
25 years of the Electronic Journal of Combinatorics (Richard A. Brualdi, Bruce Sagan, Maya Stein and David Wood)

Abstract Submission

Click here to submit a talk and abstract for a contributed or an invited talk.


The Registration deadline is May 10 at 23:59. Registration is now closed. There will be no onsite registration.

Minisymposium Submission

A contributed minisymposium consists of one or two sessions, each containing four or five talks on related topics. Click here to submit a proposal for a contributed minisymposium.

The inaugural William T. Tutte Student Paper Award will be presented at CanaDAM 2019 (submission deadline January 31, 2019 to Discrete Mathematics and March 15, 2019 to CanaDAM)

Elsevier Mathematics is proud to announce starting in 2019, a prize for the best student paper which will be awarded at the Canadian Discrete and Algorithmic Mathematics meetings. It comprises of a cash prize of US$3000 plus US$500 voucher to spend on Elsevier books. The decision on the winner(s) is made by a prize committee who may decide not to award the prize, or to split the award between two papers.

Award Winner Matěj Konečný receiving the award from Simone Munao of Elsevier.

Click to enlarge

Local Arrangements

Pavol Hell
Jonathan Jedwab – Chair
Marni Mishna – EC liaison to the LAC
Bojan Mohar
Amarpreet Rattan


Rick Brewster (Thompson Rivers)
Vida Dujmović (Ottawa)
Jim Geelen (Waterloo)
Angèle Hamel (Laurier) – EC liaison to the PC
Daniel Kráľ (Brno and Warwick) – Chair
Catherine McGeoch (D-Wave)
Pawel Pralat (Ryerson)
Saket Saurabh (IMSc Chennai)
Charles Semple (Canterbury, NZ)
Anastasios Sidiropoulos (UIC)
Jozsef Solymosi (UBC)
Maya Stein (Chile)
Einar Steingrímsson (Strathclyde)
Bartosz Walczak (Krakow)
Josephine Yu (Georgia Tech)